Advisory Board

Chair of the Australian Mental Health Prize Advisory Board

Ita Buttrose AO OBE

Ita Buttrose AC OBE is a journalist, businesswoman, television personality and author. Ita was the founding editor of Cleo Magazine. Ita is a National Ambassador for Alzheimers Australia, and was Australian of the Year in 2013. (NSW)

Advisory Members

Jack Heath

Jack Heath is the CEO of Sane Australia. (VIC)

Professor Patrick McGorry AO

Professor Patrick McGorry AO is the Executive Director of Orygen. He is a Professor of Youth Mental Health at the  University of Melbourne, and was Australian of the Year 2010. (VIC)

Jessica Rowe AM

Jessica Rowe AM is a television news presenter and author. She is a beyondblue Ambassador and Patron of its work on postnatal depression. (NSW)

Sophie Scott

Sophie Scott is the ABCs National Medical Reporter. Sophie has won the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Medical Reporting, and is also a recipient of  Research Australias Health Research in the Media Award. She is an Author, and currently a board member of the Australian Medical Association NSW Charitable Foundation. (NSW)

Greta Bradman

Greta Bradman is an award-winning Australian soprano and Decca recording artist, presenter with ABC Classic FM and provisional clinical psychologist. She is content advisor to the Arts Wellbeing Collective, patron of St Matthews Music Foundation and an ambassador for Her Majesty’s Theatre. (VIC)

Lucinda Brogden

Lucinda Brogden (B.Comm., M.OrgPsych.) is the Chair of the National Mental Health Commission, and has a strong commitment to helping others.  Her primary areas of focus are issues facing Women and Girls and Mental Health and Wellbeing particularly in the workplace.  She takes an evidenced based approach to problem solving and social investment. (NSW)

UNSW Advisory Members

Scientia Professor Henry Brodaty AO

Scientia Professor Henry Brodaty AO is Scientia Professor of Ageing and Mental Health at UNSW Australia; Consultant Psychogeriatrician in Aged Care Psychiatry, and Head of the Memory Disorders Clinic, Prince of Wales Hospital. He is the Co-Director of the Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing at UNSW.

Scientia Professor Philip Mitchell AM

Scientia Professor Philip Mitchell AM is a member of the NHMRC Research Committee; a Consultant Psychiatrist at the Prince of Wales Hospital, and Director of the Bipolar Disorders Clinic at the Black Dog Institute. He was also Head of the School of Psychiatry at UNSW Australia. He has previously been a Guest Professor at the Shanghai Jiaotong University, and Visiting Professor at Harbin Medical University, China. He is a Board Member of the Black Dog Institute, and Board Member of the Anika Foundation for Adolescent Depression and Suicide.

Scientia Professor Perminder Sachdev AM

Scientia Professor Perminder Sachdev AM is the Scientia Professor of Neuropsychiatry at UNSW Australia; the Co-Director of the Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing (CHeBA) at UNSW; and the Clinical Director of the Neuropsychiatric Institute (NPI) at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney.

Professor Valsamma Eapen

Professor Valsamma Eapen is Chair of the Infant, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the UNSW Australia and Head of the Academic Unit of Child Psychiatry, South West Sydney (AUCS). She is a Board Director for Karitane, research theme leader for the Autism Co-operative Research Centre and Stream leader for “Early Life Determinants of Health” in the Sydney Partnership for Health, Education, Research and Enterprise (SPHERE).

Professor Kimberlie Dean

Professor Kimberlie Dean is a forensic psychiatrist and Head of the School of Psychiatry at UNSW, as well as Academic Program Director for the Forensic Mental Health program at UNSW.

Former Advisory Members

The Australian Mental Health Prize Advisory Committee would like to acknowledge the contributions by the following former members of the Committee:

  • Ita Buttrose AC OBE (2016-2020)
  • Jack Heath (2016-2020)
  • UNSW Scientia Professor Perminder Sachdev AM (2016-2020)
  • Hon Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO (2016-2019)
  • Judy Brewer AO (2016-2019)
  • Adam Gilchrist AM (2016-2017)
  • UNSW Professor Ian Jacobs (2016-2017)
  • Professor Allan Fels AO (2016 – early 2017)
  • Ben Quilty (2016)