2017 Finalists 2017-11-22T23:59:16+00:00


Janet Meagher, a mental health advocate; and Professor Allan Fels, Chairman of the National Mental Health Commission have been awarded the Australian Mental Health Prize for 2017. 

To find out more about Ms Meagher and Professor Fels, please visit the UNSW website: https://newsroom.unsw.edu.au/news/health/dual-winners-australian-mental-health-prize-announced

2017 Finalists

Professor Adam Scott

Indooroopilly, QLD

Professor Adam Scott

Founder and Chairman of the White Cloud Foundation

Professor Allan Fels

Melbourne, VIC

Chairman of the National Mental Health Commission

Professor Gavin Andrews

Sydney, NSW

Professor Gavin Andrews

Innovator, clinician and researcher in the field of mental health in Australia & overseas

Janet Meagher

Engadine, NSW

Janet Meagre

Living with schizophrenia since 1969 and uses her experience to champion the rights of others.

Pam Brown

Sydney, NSW

Pam has spent the past decade working for the Australian Kookaburra Kids Foundation


 Patrick Hardwick

Tuart Hill, WA

Patrick Hardwick

Patrick is the driving force behind The Practical Guide for Working with Carers of People with a Mental Illness


More information on each finalist will be released over the coming weeks.


The winner will be announced by the Hon Greg Hunt MP, Minister for Health at a ceremony on Monday November 20th, 2017.